
v. 3.1  CC Flowchart Tom Repetti

Attacking Infantry Advance into Defender’s Location
• Advance NA for Berserk/Banzai/Human Wave/Pinned/TI units
• Infantry may not advance into Marsh, Swamp, or Water Obstacle.
• Resolve FFE/mines, check for Trip Flares/Panji MC vs advancing units
• Pillboxes cannot be entered while Defending units are still inside, but can

be CC’d by entering their hex (all other enemy units outside the Pillbox
must be eliminated before the Pillbox occupants can be CC’d).

• Foxholes/ Trenches can be entered by the attacker (their stacking limits
are per side [B27.44]).

• Fortified Locations cannot be entered while a GO enemy squad-equivalent
is inside.

Resolve All Sequential CC’s in the Location
• Sequential CC attacks need not be predesignated – one can see the

results of previous attacks before declaring new ones.
• Any unit which is captured/withdrawn/eliminated before it attacks

forfeits its attack opportunity
• If more than one sequential situation exists in a CC Location,

preference is given in order 1-3:

1. Prisoners attack their broken Guards first [A11.33, A20.55]

2. Ambush:
i)   Ambushing side may withdraw some/all of its unpinned units [A11.41]
ii)  Ambushing side resolves all of its attacks
iii)  Survivors of non-Ambushing side resolves all of their attacks
iv)  If they did not eliminate/capture their targets, ambushing units lose 

concealment
v)   Unpinned surviving Ambushing units may Withdraw from Ambush

3. Vehicle in the CC Location:
i)  Non-vehicular side resolves one attack
ii)  Survivors of vehicular side resolve one attack
iii)  Repeat i-ii with survivors of both sides taking turns

Complete this sequence for each CC Location
before moving on to the next CC Location.
Attacker specifies the order in which multiple
CC Locations are resolved.

Place all Hidden units in the same Location with an enemy unit onboard
beneath a ? counter. Temporarily reveal Concealed units in the same
Location with an enemy unit, thus eliminating Dummy stacks [A11.19]

Check for Ambush if A11.4
• Attacking infantry advanced into CC

(not into a Melee) in Bldg/Woods/Jungle/
Bamboo/Kunai/RB Rubble

• Either side has a concealed unit

• Prisoners of broken Guards in CC (not Melee) must pass
an NTC in order to attack their Guard [A20.55]

• Both sides (Attacker first) declare attempts to Withdraw
from Melee (not CC) [A11.2]

• Both sides (Attacker first) declare each SMC’s solo
status or pair it with another SMC or MMC [A11.14]

Resolve All Simultaneous CC’s
in the Location
• Simultaneous CC attacks must be

predesignated before any are rolled
• Attacker rolls all of his attacks first

[A11.12], so the Attacker’s CC results
always apply, even if the Defender rolls a 2

• Berserk units that participated in an attack that eliminated all
Known Enemy units in its Location return to normal [A15.46]

• Flip/remove CC or retain/remove Melee marker as appropriate
­ Units which have retained concealment by not

making/directing a CC attack and not being Casualty Reduced
by enemy CC are not held in Melee and do not hold opposing
units in Melee [A11.19]

­ Vehicles/PRC cannot be held in Melee but non-Motion
vehicles do hold Known enemy Infantry in Melee [A11.7]

­ Cavalry, cyclists, and skiers are not Infantry; these units can be
in Melee but are not held in Melee. In their MPh, they can
dismount in the Melee hex or move out of the Melee [A11.71]

­ Melee NA to Pillboxes [B30.6]

• Dare-Death Infantry remain Berserk only if in Melee [G18.6]

Ambush Odds
drm

advantage
Chance of
success*

+2  3%
+1  8%
+0 16 %
-1 28 %
-2 42 %
-3 58 %
-4 72 %
-5 83 %

* - in daytime. At Night, read
across and down one row.

• PAATC required for MMC to advance into a Location vs a manned
Known enemy AFV or Armored Cupola.  Multiple MMC in a stack
need not predesignate their advances, but advances into AFV’s
Location must be made before the next PAATC is taken. [A11.6]
­ NA to IJA, SMC, Fanatic, Berserk units
­ Leadership applies even if the Leader does not advance in himself
­ 1PAATC for Inexperienced Infantry, non-Elite GMD Chinese, non-

Elite Italians, Allied/Axis Minors
­ Fail PAATC ⇒  unit Pinned, cannot advance into AFV’s Location

• Unpinned Attacking IJA Infantry squad/HS ADJACENT to an enemy
AFV may attempt to create a T-H Hero [G1.421]

• Ambush occurs if either side rolls 3 less
than the other [EXC: Attacker at Night
need only roll 2 less than the Defender in
un-Illuminated Locations [E1.77]]

• If Ambush occurs, the side being
Ambushed loses all concealment [A11.4]

• Ambush is not automatic for Street
Fighting  [A11.8] {97 Q&A}

drm Cause
+2 Cavalry, Vehicle, Pillbox*

+2 Above a Bank counter
+1 BU or Stunned (each)
+1 CX, Broken, Pinned, Berserk (each)
+1 Lax   (Inexperienced, GMD Chinese at Night, IJA Conscripts,

Banzai/Human Wave, Berserk, non-Elite Italians)      [A11.18]
+1 On Panji
+1 Attacker advancing into Jungle/Kunai/Bamboo
+x Leadership of best GO unpinned leader if not alone
-1 Stealthy (ANZAC, Gurkhas, Finns, Heroes, Commandos, Partisans,

IJA/RB Russian Elite/1st Line) (only if GO) [A11.17]
-2 Concealed

* - only if the Pillbox itself is being attacked {J1 Q&A}

Sequential CC exists

Simultaneous CC exists
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Original DR of 2:
1. If an MMC rolled the 2, check for Leader

Creation [A18.2] and recalculate the odds for
attacks by and against that MMC as if the leader
had been present all along.

2. Resolve the attack (Possible Unlikely Kill vs a
vehicle [A11.501])

3. Owner may Withdraw unpinned Infantry/
Cavalry that rolled the 2 without their being
attacked [EXC: in simultaneous CC, Defenders
rolling a 2 are still subject to the results of the
Attacker’s CC DR]

Original DR of 12:
1. Resolve the attack (Possible Crew Small Arms if

vehicle was attacked [A11.621])
2. Owner of units being attacked by the 12 may

immediately Withdraw unpinned Infantry/
Cavalry survivors of the attack (in simultaneous
CC, Defenders attacked by a 12 must withdraw
immediately before resolving their attacks)

Withdrawing from CC/Melee/Ambush                          A11.21, A11.41
• NA to Berserk/Pinned/Disrupted units
• Withdrawing unit can carry only  ≤ its IPC
• OK to become CX for entering Difficult Terrain [A4.72]
• Withdrawing units are subject to FFE/minefield/Trip Flares/Panjis
• Location withdrawn into cannot be occupied by a Known Enemy Unit. OK to withdraw

into an Unknown enemy unit’s Location [EXC: broken units cannot withdraw into any
enemy unit’s Location], but if that enemy can show a real unit, all withdrawing units
are KIA and at least one enemy unit must become Known.

• Unbroken/unpinned Street Fighting units must withdraw to the same Locations they
came from [A11.8]. VBM Street Fighting units must remain in the Bypassed obstacle
(unless they Ambushed the opposing side and can withdraw from Ambush)

Vehicular CC attack vs Infantry/Cavalry   A11.62
• Shocked/Stunned vehicles may not attack in CC [C7.42/D5.34]
• CC NA between units in a Pillbox and vehicles/PRC
• Vehicle FP forms an odds ratio vs defending unit’s CCV

­ Use black CC #’s
­ Vehicle FP halved for Motion, vs concealed units, by Pinned firers

• Vehicle can combine in any number of attacks:
­ CMG/ RMG/ IFE from 12.7 or 15mm MA
­ AAMG fired by CE crew or Heroic Rider [A15.23]
­ Riders and CE HT Passengers

• sN Close Defense Weapon Sysem (July ‘44+) [A11.622]
­ AFV must be BU
­ Can only be used after the vehicle/its Personnel Escort has been attacked in

that CCPh or if the vehicle has ambushed the opponent.
­ Attacks all unarmored units in the Location (even friendly units) with 16 FP

on the IFT [TEM, Armor Leader, half FP for Motion all NA]. NE if the
Original IFT DR is greater than the vehicle’s sN #.

SW/Gun Destruction                           A11.13
If a unit is eliminated with an original cdr = 1, do
a subsequent dr. If that dr  ≤ the black kill # of
that CC attack, that SW/Gun is eliminated.

Hand to Hand CC G1.64, G18.62, J2.31
• NA by/vs Pillboxes, Vehicles/PRC [G1.64]
• Uses red numbers on CC table
• HtH mandatory with:

­ DASL Berserk units attacking Infantry/Cavalry
­ IJA Infantry/Cavalry or Chinese Dare-Death MMC

are not Ambushed/Withdrawing/Pinned and:
¡ Ambushes the enemy in CC, or
¡ Is the Attacker in CC/Melee

• HtH optional for:
­ DASL attacker which is not Ambushed [J2.31]
­ RB scenarios [SSR RB11]

• Once declared, HtH exists in that Location until
either/both sides are eliminated/withdrawn/captured

• IJA/Dare-Death HtH attack receives an extra –1 CC
DRM unless every such attacking unit is Pinned

ATMM C13.7, G1.4231, SSR RB13

Available to: ‘44-‘45 Germans, RB Elite German Infantry, IJA TH-Heroes

dr Result
1-3 Succeeds, -3 CC DRM*

4-5 no ATMM

6 no ATMM, unit Pinned**

* - Succeeds only on a dr of 1 for RB Elite German Infantry – no drm apply
** - CCV lowered by 1 for being Pinned. NA to IJA TH-Hero.

drm Cause
+2 SMC (not TH-Hero)
+1 HS/Crew
+1 CX
+1 pre-44 TH-Hero
+1 vs non-armored vehicle

FAQ’s
• Attacks vs a Melee hex [EXC: Sniper] affect both sides [A11.15]
• Broken units in Melee do not Rout; they must Withdraw from Melee

unless Disrupted or Guarding Prisoners. Broken units in CC (ie, the
start of Close Combat in that Location) cannot Withdraw or attack;
they must hope to survive one CCPh and then Withdraw from the
Melee that develops.

• Berserk/Human Wave/Banzai units do not make a CC Location
eligible for Ambush; they did not advance into the Location.

• Ambush is NA when units reinforce a Melee (Ambush is only for the
first occurrence of CC).

• A CC/Melee marker is immediately removed when only one side
remains in the Location [Q&A]

• All units do not have to attack or be attacked in CC [A11.12], but no
unit may attack or be attacked more than once [EXC: by/vs
vehicles, which can attack and be attacked multiple times]

• Positive leadership modifier can be declined when a SMC+MMC stack
attacks in CC [Q&A]

• LLMC/LLTC are NA in CC/Melee [A11.141]
• All units making/directing a CC attack lose Concealment [EXC:

Ambushing units do not lose concealment if they successfully
capture/eliminate their target, A11.4]

Odds: <1-8 1-8 1-6 1-4 1-2 1-1 3-2 2-1 3-1 4-1 6-1 8-1 10-1 >10-1

CC Kill # 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
HtH Kill # 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

*CCV:   Squad:  5    TH-Hero: 5    Crew: 4    HS: 3    SMC: 2
*CCV Modifiers:  Assault Engineers: +1,  Inexperienced: -1,  extra SMC  +1,  halved FP: -1 per each application

CC DRM:
vs Concealed unit [A11.19].........................................................x ½ Heroic DRM [A15.24]................................................................ -1
by Guarding/Motion/Pinned (per application)...........................x ½ by Gurkha vs Infantry/Cavalry/PRC [A25.43] ......................... -1
by Ambush (NA during Melee)  (vs Ambush: +1).......................-1 by armed/unpinned IJA/Dare-Death in HtH [G1.64] ............... -1
vs Crest/skiers/Truck Passengers  (by same: +2) .........................-2 by Dare-Death MMC in non-HtH [G18.62].............................. -1
vs boat/amphibious Passengers [E5.6]  (by same: +2).................-2 by vehicle on a Narrow Street [P5.132] ................................... +1
vs CX/TI/Riders  (by same: +1).....................................................-1 *vs Motion/Non-Stopped vehicle [A11.51].............................. +2
vs Wire unit [B26.31]  (by same: +1)............................................-1 *vs unarmored vehicle [A11.51] ................................................ -3
vs Bank [G8.212]/Panji [G9.21] unit  (by same: +1) ...................-1 *vs vehicle with no manned/usable MG [A11.51].................... -1
Capture Attempt [A20.22]  (vs Inexperienced Inf: -1)................+1 *per escorting Personnel HS/Crew [A11.51]  (squad: +2) ...... +1
vs Withdrawing Infantry [A11.2]  (per Covering unit: +1) .........-2 *vs OT/partially armored AFV [A11.61]................................... -2
vs Overstacked per excess squad [A5.131]  (by same: +1)..........-1 *vs CE CT or abandoned AFV [A11.61]................................... -1
Leadership (unpinned GO leader not alone) [A11.141].............+ x *vs Immobile AFV [A11.61]...................................................... -1
vs broken unit [A11.16]..................................................................-2 *with ATMM [C13.7] ................................................................. -3

* - applicable only to CC vs vehicles


